Environment and Climate Change Canada has issued a Special Weather Statement for Moose Jaw and its surrounding area.  

They say that they are tracking a low-pressure system in Montana that will spread snow into southern Saskatchewan on Friday. The storm could bring with it as much as 10 to 20 centimetres of snow to some areas.  

The snow is forecast to begin in southwestern Saskatchewan on Friday evening, move across southern Saskatchewan into southwestern Manitoba Friday night, and then push across southern Manitoba Saturday into Saturday evening. 

The primary concern is that this system could end up further south which could substantially decrease the amount of snow that would fall across the southern Prairies. 

Southeasterly winds will accompany the storm, which will create areas of blowing snow on Friday evening across the southern parts of the province, which could deteriorate driving conditions.  

It is possible that over the next 24 hours, the track of the low may shift further south, limiting the snowfall amounts and blowing snow potential. 
Please refer to local forecasts for more details on the expected conditions and timing of this system. ECCC meteorologists will be actively tracking this system as it develops; please monitor for updated forecasts and/or alerts. 

The Special Weather Statement is in effect for the following areas:

  • City of Moose Jaw
  • R.M. of Baildon including Briercrest
  • R.M. of Caron including Caronport and Caron
  • R.M. of Chaplin including Chaplin
  • R.M. of Craik including Craik and Aylesbury
  • R.M. of Dufferin including Bethune and Findlater
  • R.M. of Enfield including Central Butte
  • R.M. of Eyebrow including Eyebrow and Brownlee
  • R.M. of Hillsborough including Crestwynd and Old Wives lake
  • R.M. of Huron including Tugaske
  • R.M. of Maple Bush including Riverhurst and Douglas Prov. Park
  • R.M. of Marquis including Tuxford Keeler and Buffalo Pound
  • R.M. of Moose Jaw including Pasqua and Bushell Park
  • R.M. of Pense including Pense Belle Plaine and Stony Beach
  • R.M. of Redburn including Rouleau and Hearne
  • R.M. of Rodgers including Coderre and Courval
  • R.M. of Sarnia including Holdfast Chamberlain and Dilke
  • R.M. of Shamrock including Shamrock and Kelstern
  • R.M. of Wheatlands including Mortlach and Parkbeg