The Canadian Grain Commission is redesignating 29 varieties of Canada Western Red Spring and Canadian Prairie Spring Red wheat.

As of Aug. 1, 2017, these varieties, such as Harvest and AC Formost, will be moved to another class of wheat because they do not meet the quality standards of their current class. For example, some varieties showed low gluten strength, which ends up producing poorer quality flour. The grain commission had to propose to develop a new wheat class to move these varieties to, but that class isn't definite yet, and an interim wheat class will be in place as of Aug. 1, 2015.

"Right now, the permance of that wheat class is still in discussion with the industry," says Daryl Beswitherick, program manager for quality assurance standards with the Canadian Grain Commission. "Once that decision has been made, then we'll announce what particular class these varieties will be designated to."

In 2016, they will also be doing another review, for a period of up to two years, of other CWRS and CPSR varieties that need more research before making a decision about further class changes.

A list of variety designation changes are available online.