Moose Jaw, SK – The Western Hockey League announced on Tuesday that Jagger Firkus, Denton Mateychuk and Jackson Unger have been named East Division First Team All-Stars.

This is the first time that all three players have been named East Division First Team All-Stars. It’s the second career all-star nod for Mateychuk, who was a Second Team All-Star in 2021-22.

Mateychuk put together a season for the record books with a career-high 17 goals, 58 assists and 75 points in only 52 games.

The Warriors captain set the franchise record for most career points by a defenceman, finishing the season with 215 career points.

Firkus won the Bob Clarke Trophy as the WHL’s leading scorer after finishing with 61 goals, 65 assists and 126 points, which were all career highs.

He also moved into fourth on the Warriors’ all-time points list and second on the goals list, while becoming just the fourth player in franchise history to surpass the 300-point mark.

Unger led the WHL in wins with 35 while also finishing sixth in save percentage with a career-best .908 mark. His 3.08 goals against average was also a career-high and 13th best in the league.

Since the WHL moved to division-based all-star teams, this is the first time that the Warriors have had multiple First Team All-Stars.

The Warriors’ trio are joined by three Saskatoon Blades players, forwards Trevor Wong and Egor Sidorov and defenceman Tanner Molendyk.

Moose Jaw opens the 2024 WHL Playoffs against the Brandon Wheat Kings on Friday at the Moose Jaw Events Centre.