On November 24, 16 men from Moose Jaw are going to sleep outdoors to raise awareness about the importance of the Moose Jaw Transition House in providing a warm and safe home for women and children fleeing violence.

"The whole purpose is we kind of just want to put ourselves out for the night and then go to work the next day, as a lot of people have to flee a violent situation. We're just going to spend one night and see how much money we can raise for the Transition House and hopefully raise a lot of awareness for it as well," explained board member Jared Mathieson.

Nov. 25 is the start of the 16 Days of Activism against Gender-Based Violence. It begins with the International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women and ends on Dec. 10 with Human Rights Day.

"The Moose Jaw Transition House averages 100 women and children each year," noted Mathieson. "They also receive over 500 crisis calls each year. Along with helping people get out of a bad situation, they also support over 500 children, adults, and families with various outreach programs...I think if people know that there's a safe place where they can get away, that's awesome, but I also think that it's important for men to step up and say that it's not OK and take the pledge that they'll never commit violence against women."

Since 1991 men have worn white ribbons on Nov. 25 as a pledge to never commit, condone or remain silent about all forms of gender-based violence and discrimination. 

Participants have a goal of raising $500 each.

To support the cause contact one of the men listed below or go to mj-transitionhouse.com

Transition House Men’s Night Out

1.       Adam Dowling - RBC
2.       Joel Pinel – Vize Labs
3.       Brett Williams – Cypress Paving
4.       Mark Gilliland/ Sebasten Halvorsen – Metis Local and  ACT Club
5.       Paul Busse – Moose Jaw Firefighter
6.       Kyle Sereda – Moose Jaw & District EMS
7.       Ira Dales – Ifrix Solutions
8.       John Iatrdis – The Mad Greek
9.       Alex Carelton – Crushed Can
10.     Shea Jameson - JGL
11.     Matt Gillies – K+S
12.     Eric Campbell – Lindale School
13.     Gordon Edgar – Moose Jaw Express
14.     Andy Hamilton – Henderson Insurance
15.     Arden Ausland – Mosaic
16.     Tim McLeod – MLA

Special Guest – Dr. Evan Neuls – Surgeon

Transition House Board Members

Geoff Anderson – Moose Jaw Co-op
Jared Mathieson – Saskatchewan Polytechnic
Kevin Pilsworth – Moose Jaw Police (on patrol that night)