Riders QB Kerry Joseph will represent the Western Division for Most Outstanding Player in the CFL awards.


The Saskatchewan Roughriders are enjoying one of their best seasons in years, and a key member of their team is being rewarded individually.

Riders quarterback Kerry Joseph will represent the Western Division for the Most Outstanding Player award at the CFL awards.

Joseph there for close to 4,000 yards and 24 touchdowns, and ran for 687 yards and 13 touchdowns.  His rushing touchdowns are only one shy of Doug Flutie's CFL record set back in 1991.

The last Rider to be up for this award was Cory Holmes in 1995; the last Rider to win was Ron Lancaster in 1976.

The Eastern nominee is Winnipeg Blue Bombers quarterback and former Rider Kevin Glenn.

The BC Lions have five nominations, including Regina product Jason Clermont who beat out Rider slotback Andy Fantuz for Outstanding Canadian.

The CFL Player Awards will be announced November 22nd in Toronto.