The Moose Jaw Police Service recognized those making a difference in our community during an awards ceremony on Wednesday afternoon. 

Police Chief Rick Bourassa said it was important to honour, not only the officers that went above and beyond the call of duty but also members of the public that have contributed to making our community a better place. 

“Policing isn’t about us out there enforcing. Policing is about all of us working together as a community to get at the issues that are causing disruptions in our community,” Bourassa said. “So many of those are socioeconomic and mental wellness issues.” 

PACT members Const. Shawn Mohle and mental health worker Tanya Morland received the Chief’s Commendation award for safely diffusing a situation on March 6, 2024, of a suicidal man with a firearm. 

Constables Alanna Coghill, Amanda Johnston and Heino Izaaks also received Chief’s Commendation awards. When the police’s communications centre had significant vacancies, the three constables stepped up and used their previous experience in the communications centre to fill those gaps. 

Lynda Thome was the lone civilian to receive the Chief’s Commendation Award. On June 7, 2023, Thome saw a woman on the edge of the Fourth Avenue bridge. She stopped her vehicle and when over to the woman and talked her off the ledge. Once police arrived, the woman told officers it was her conversation with Thome that kept her from jumping off the bridge. 

Innovation Awards were to Sgt. Josh MacNaughton and Staff Sgt. Sheldon MacNaughton for the creation of the MJPS’s Internet Child Exploitation Unit, and Staff Sgt. Taylor Elder and Const. Rod Zoerb for the creation of the police service’s tactical unit. 

The community building awards were to Dr. Nick Carleton, Dr. Heather Hadjistavropoulos, Dr. Nick Jones, Dr. Lelsie-Anne Keown, Donna King and Dr. Chris Yost, the John Howard Society’s Willow Lodge team and the 800 CHAB Family First Radiothon team of Rob Carnie, Darcia Hojenski, Camron Howe, Kelly McElree, Ken Hawkes and Vi Reaman. 

The teamwork award went to officers who responded to a home invasion in September of 2023 that turned up one kilogram of fentanyl with a street value of $400,000. Those receiving the teamwork award included the following: 

  • Const. Murray Rice 
  • Const. Evan Schwabe 
  • Const. Jeremy Anderson 
  • Const. Kalie Seidlitz 
  • Sgt. Josh MacNaughton 
  • Const. Branden Hoggins 
  • Const. Gradyn Childerhose 
  • Const. Aaron Woods 
  • Sgt. Dionne Milleker 
  • Sgt. Myles Coghlin 
  • Const. Jordan Lonsberry 
  • Const. Brad Sukenik 
  • Const. Ryan Lundquist 
  • Const. Austin Abbott 

During the awards ceremony, past members of the Moose Jaw Board of Police Commissioners were honoured. 

“It can be a very stressful position and the work we do around the board table is very important. We work very collaboratively with our chief and our police service members to really strength our city and do the best we can for the citizen we serve as well,” said board chair Crystal Froese. 

Those honoured included former chair Mary Lee Booth after five years on the board, Darrell Markin after five years and Kim Robinson after one year. 

Retired officer honoured were Todd Booth after 34 years as a senior constable, Bob Heath after 37 years as a Sergeant, Stanley Koch after 17 years as a senior constable and Devon Oleniuk after 33.5 years as a superintendent. 

Promoted members were Randell Boechler to Staff Sergeant, Ryan Larence to Sergeant, Dionne Millker to Sergeant, Josh MacNaughton to Sergeant, Sheldon MacNaughton to Staff Sergeant, Chad Scheske to Staff Sergeant and Jason Watt to Sergeant.