The official Swearing In Ceremony was held at Moose Jaw City Hall Monday night following the recount.


Once the recount results were finalized Monday afternoon the new council was sworn in at City Hall consisting of Dale McBain as mayor, and Darin Chow, Al Schwinghamer, Brian Swanson, Dawn Luhning, Mary Dell Findlay, and Regina Sagal-Hendry as councillors.

Mayor McBain was quick to point out another first that Moose Jaw can claim in the history of the province. "The make up of this council being three male and three female, not counting the mayor of course, is a first for Moose Jaw and in talking with my colleagues at SUMA I discovered its also a first for any city in Saskatchewan. Once again Moose Jaw leads the way."

Council was quick to get to work as they passing a few motions including a motion to look into purchasing more ballot counting machines for the next election in 2009 and a motion reaffirming the city's 15 million dollar commitment to the multiplex, due to the 71 per cent support of the plebiscite question during the election.