Regina sees the same captain at the helm while the winds of change were blowing in other communities.


After the first ballot was counted, it was obvious how Regina's mayoral race would end up. Incumbent Pat Fiacco laid claim to more than 80% of the vote defeating the likes of Jim Holmes, Darcy Robillard, and Wayne Wagner.

Seven of the ten faces on city council will be familiar ones. Terry Hincks, Sharon Bryce, Fred Clipsham, Bill Gray, Wade Murray, Jerry Flegel, and Michael Fougere are all back in. They'll be joined by three newcomers, including Louis Browne, Jocelyn Hutchinson, and Michael O'Donnell.


He was known as the interim mayor of Assiniboia until Wednesday night. Paul Topola was officially elected mayor beating out William Perry by more than 600 votes.

There were six town council positions up for grabs and seven candidates. The odd person out was Linda Hall.

Incumbents Kim Ford, Bill Dyck, Bob Pickard, Bev Monea, and Walter Chipak were re-elected. Carol Hogg was also elected and is new to Assiniboia town council.


There was no election in Avonlea Wednesday. However, there is a new mayor in town.

Former council member Alex Getzlaf was acclaimed after former Avonlea mayor Gary Nelson decided to try his luck on town council.

Nelson joins the other three acclaimed members of town council. Incumbent Mark Mondor and two new councillors, Trisha Miller, and Darren Treble.


Royden Taylor ran unopposed in Caronport and was acclaimed as mayor.

The focus in Caronport Wednesday night was the tight race for two existing spots on town council. Incumbent Clint Goetz and new candidate Mark Shulz managed to beat out Paul Blankenstin for those council positions.


Citizens of Central Butte didn't go to the polls Wednesday and that's because everyone was acclaimed.

Incumbent mayor Alvin Klassen keeps his job and the same can be said for five of the six councillors. Malerie Taylor, Carl Christmann, Sandra Bathgate, Chris McIvor, and Norm Fedrau were all acclaimed. Art Iverson was too but he's new to town council.


The Village of Chamberlain didn't cast any ballots Wednesday because all three of their candidates were acclaimed.

Incumbent mayor Kevin Uhrich retained his spot and both incumbent council members kept their positions. Ed Eberts and Lyle Bennett were both acclaimed.


Election night in Chaplin was an exciting one. The race for mayor saw new comer Michael Forsberg beat out incumbent mayor Barry Crowther with just 9 votes.

Incumbent Jack Doell was re-elected on town council. Darrell Benson, Bruce Tyler, and Ellen Myketiak are three new council candidates that were also elected.


Former council member Fern Bouvier was acclaimed mayor of Gravelbourg well before Wednesday's election. There were however 8 candidates running for six positions on town council.

Leading with 404 votes was new comer Roger Loiselle. He and three other new comers found themselves holding down the majority of the spots on town council, Ronald Bouvier, Louis Leclaire, and Paulette Hawkins. Incumbents Darcy Stefiuk and Toos Giesen were re-elected to Gravelbourg town council.


There was no need for the community of Marquis to go to the polls. Everyone was acclaimed including incumbent mayor Nick Kettel and both council members John Guillaume and Ken Marcyniuk.


The race for mayor in Mortlach was non-existent this time around. Ron Locke was acclaimed quite some time ago, however there were 4 spots that needed to be filled on town council.

Incumbents Ollie Ellingson and Larry Forbes were re-elected and new comers Robert Drake and Allen Kennerley picked up the other two positions available.


There was no need for Mossbank residents to go out and vote as everyone was acclaimed.

Incumbent mayor Carl Weiss is back for another term. Vern Lange, Mike Faris, and Leon Wushke continue on as members of the Mossbank town council. Debbie Sullivan, Darla Sandbeck, and Murray Peterson are new to town council, they too were acclaimed.


Not much changed in the community of Rockglen and there was no need for an election. In fact, a second call for candidates was needed to fill three of the six spots on council.

Council incumbents Jodie Langford, Ron Prefontaine, Faye Elford, Eldon Walter, and Leo Lamontagne were acclaimed. New to the mix is Michael Ryan.

Incumbent mayor Leonard Davey ran unopposed.


A landslide victory for Swift Current mayor Sandy Larson. Larson garnered 3480 votes or 59.1 percent of the total ballots. Don Robinson finished 2nd with Henry Banman a distant third.

Four incumbents on Swift Current city council are back in the form of Tim Keene, Jerrod Schafer, John Wall, and Gord Budd. Two new Councillors are aboard, Stacey Ellertson and Tim Bugera.