The Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation (STF) has given 48-hour notice for their next strike action.

The most recent round of rotating strikes won’t affect Moose Jaw area schools, but will impact 4,300 teachers and approximately 65,300 students in the province.

On Wednesday, February 7 the following teachers’ local associations will be on strike.

Creighton Teachers’ Association
• Creighton School Division

Northern Area Teachers’ Association
• Northern Lights School

Division Prairie Spirit Teachers’ Association
• Prairie Spirit School Division

Saskatoon Teachers’ Association
• Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools
• Saskatoon Public Schools

Strike action includes Conseil des écoles fransaskoises schools and Saskatchewan Distance Learning Centre teachers who work at a school or regional campus within the geographic boundaries of the public school divisions listed above. This includes ÉCF Pavillon Gustave Dubois, ÉCF Pavillon Monique Rousseau, École Providence, DLC Far North Campus in La Ronge and DLC Central Campus in Saskatoon.

The province and the STF - which represents Saskatchwan's 13,500 teachers - remain far apart on many key issues including class size and complexity.