For the second straight season, Brayden Yager is the Brad Hornung Memorial Trophy winner as the Western Hockey League’s Sportsmanlike Player of the Year.

“It’s an honour to receive this award for the second time,” Yager said.

“I’d like to congratulate the other division winners on their amazing seasons, I’d also like to take the time to thank my coaching staff here in Moose Jaw, my teammates and the entire organization of the Moose Jaw Warriors for all the support to help me get to where I am today.”

Yager finished this season with a career-high 35 goals and 95 points, while taking just 20 penalty minutes over the course of 57 games.

The Pittsburgh Penguins first round pick has now won the award in back-to-back seasons after also claiming the Canadian Hockey League’s Most Sportsmanlike Player award last season as well.

Yager has won a WHL and CHL award every year in his major junior career after taking home the Rookie of the Year honour during the 2021-22 season.

Yager edged out Jordan Keller of the Kamloops Blazers, Gavin Hodnett of the Edmonton Oil Kings and Jordan Gavin of the Tri-City Americans for this year’s award.

The Warriors forward will now be up for the CHL award at the 2024 Memorial Cup in Saginaw, MI.