Jason Ripplinger has been named the East Division Executive of the Year on Wednesday by the Western Hockey League.

The Moose Jaw Warriors general manager will now be up for the Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy for WHL Executive of the Year for the first time in his career.

Ripplinger helped build the Warriors’ squad, which finished with the second-best record in the Eastern Conference, posting a 44-21-0-3 record.

After drafting Jagger Firkus, Denton Mateychyk and Brayden Yager as the team’s Assistant GM, Ripplinger built around the core this season, acquiring Kalem Parker, Brayden Schuurman, Rilen Kovacevic, Vojtech Port and Matthew Savoie in three separate deals.

The Warriors are now into the 2024 WHL Playoffs, facing the Brandon Wheat Kings in the first round.

The 2024 WHL Awards will be handed out in early May.