The top eight senior men’s curling teams in the province will be down in Assiniboia for the next five days as the town plays host to the 2013 Senior Men’s Provincial Championships.


The games get started on Wednesday afternoon with the opening draw going at 2:00pm.  “There will be two draws a day and eight teams competing in a round robin format,” said Mike Broda with the organizing committee.


Regina will be well represented at the Provincial Championship with all four Southern teams coming out of the Queen City; Al Schick, Gord Bell, Ken Petruic and Don Baber are all taking part.  


Qualifying out of the North were; Bryan Derbowka from Yorkton, Kerrobert’s Brad Heidt, North Battleford’s Glen Heitt and Eugene Hritzuk out of Saskatoon.


“It’s a really good field.  There’s many recognizable names there, past Tankard champions, representing Saskatchewan in the Brier, so it’s a strong field and I’m sure it will be great curling action,” stated Broda.


In addition to the curling, which will be happening from Wednesday through Sunday, there will be many other events, including a luncheon on Friday.  “It’s the luncheon for the curlers, but it’s also open to the public,” explains Broda.  “The tickets are 15-dollars and the highlight of the luncheon is our guest speaker, Mike McCullough from the Saskatchewan Roughriders, so if you’re a curler or football fan, we’ve got something for everyone.”


Broda adds that planning has went great for the event, “We’ve got a really good volunteer base here, we can usually pull these events off without a hitch, and we have a very strong curling fan base here, so we’re good to go.”


Tickets for the luncheon are available at the Assiniboia Curling Club and Southland Co-op Shopping Centre.  As for the curling, tickets are $10 per day, or $5 for the last draw of the day.  A full event pass is $40.


“It’s very affordable and some of the best curling action that you’ll see,” said Broda.  “We’re excited and ready for it to get going.”


The Page Playoffs start on Saturday at 7:00pm and the Championship Final is set for 1:00pm on Sunday.


Click here to follow along throughout the event.