The Moose Jaw Warriors honoured the 2022-23 season’s top performers before the regular season finale on Saturday at the Moose Jaw Events Centre.

Warriors captain Denton Mateychuk was the big winner, taking home the Player of the Year and Safeway Top Defenceman awards.

Mateychuk finished the regular season with eight goals and 65 points in 63 games, setting a career-high in points and assists (57).

The Columbus Blue Jackets' first-round pick’s point total was ninth in the Western Hockey League among defencemen, while he finished with the fifth-most assists in the league.

Jagger Firkus, Brayden Yager and Atley Calvert also won multiple awards.

Firkus won the Tim Hortons Top Scorer and Emerald Custom Creations 3-Star awards.

Firkus led the Warriors in scoring for the second straight season, setting career highs with 40 goals and 88 points in 66 games this season.

The Seattle Kraken second-round pick finished eighth in the league in goals and 10th in points.

Yager was awarded the C&E Mechanical Most Sportsmanlike Player and Moose Jaw Co-op Humanitarian awards.

The 2023 NHL Draft prospect finished second on the Warriors in scoring with a career-high 78 points, while only registering 14 penalty minutes.

Yager also committed to working in the community, helping with minor hockey teams throughout the season.

Calvert was no doubt a fan favourite, capturing the Yara Fan’s Choice and Conexus Credit Union Cody Smuk Unsung Hero awards.

Calvert set a Warriors’ franchise record for most goals by a Moose Jaw-born player, scoring a career-high 40 goals and posting 73 points in 67 games.

The JGL Rookie of the Year award went to defenceman Cosmo Wilson, who finished with two goals and 11 points in 56 games during his first season in the WHL.

Matthew Gallant won the Andy’s Transmission & Automotive Most Improved Player award after making big strides in his second WHL season. Gallant posted two goals and 11 points in 53 games.

For the second straight season, goalie Jackson Unger won the Vanier Collegiate Scholastic Achievement award.

Click here to view a photo gallery from the awards ceremony.