Brayden Yager has defended his title as the East Division’s Most Sportsmanlike Player.

The Moose Jaw Warriors forward was named a finalist for the Western Hockey League’s Brad Hornung Memorial Trophy on Tuesday.

This is the second straight season that Yager has been up for the honour after winning the WHL and Canadian Hockey League Most Sportsmanlike Player awards in 2022-23.

Yager posted a career-high 35 goals, 60 assists and 95 points in 57 games during the 2023-24 regular season, while also having only 20 penalty minutes.

The Pittsburgh Penguins first round pick has previously won the Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy as WHL Rookie of the Year, also winning the CHL honour during the 2021-22 season.

The WHL Award winners will be announced at the beginning of May.